Skip to main content

乐观确认

原理#

vote(X, S)-投票将增加“参考”位,X这是该验证节点通过切换证明,投票通过的分叉的最新祖先。 只要验证节点进行的连续投票都是彼此相同的,X应该用于所有的这些投票。 验证节点对一个插槽s进行投票时,它不是前一个的后代,X将设置为新的插槽s。 所有投票将采用以下vote(X, S)的形式,其中S为插槽等待投票的排序列表(s, s.lockout)

对于一个投票vote(X, S),让S.last==vote.last成为最后一个插槽S

现在,我们定义一些“乐观罚没”的罚没条件。 直觉描述如下:

  • 直觉: 如果验证节点提交 voite(X, S),同一个验证节点不应该在一个不同的分叉上投票(这个分叉有“重叠”。) 更具体而言,这个验证程序不应该再投另一个票voite(X', S') 范围 [X, S. 与范围重叠 [X', S'.last], X != X',如下所示:
+-------+
| |
+---------+ +--------+
| | | |
| +-------+ |
| |
| |
| |
+---+---+ |
| | |
X | | |
| | |
+---+---+ |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | X'
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | S'.last
| | |
| +-------+
|
+---+---+
| |
s | |
| |
+---+---+
|
|
|
|
+---+---+
| |
S.last | |
| |
+-------+

(可选票的示例(X', S') 和选票(X, S))

在上图中,请注意,对S.last的投票必须在对S'.last的投票之后发送(由于锁定,较高的投票必须在以后发送)。 因此,投票顺序必须是: X ... S'.last ... S.last。 这意味着在对S'.last进行投票后,验证节点必须已在某个插槽s > S'.last > X上切换回了另一个分叉。 因此,对S.last的投票应该使用s作为“参考点”,而不是X,因为那是分叉上的最后一个“开关”。

为了实现这一点,我们定义了“乐观罚没”的罚没条件。 给定两个不同的投票 voite(X, S)voite(X, S),经过同一个验证程序的投票必须满足:

  • X <= S.last, X' <= S'.last
  • S 中所有的 s 都是彼此的祖先/后代,S' 中的所有 s' 都是同伴/同辈。
  • X == X' 暗示 SS' 父级,或者 S'S 的父级
  • X' > X 意味着 X' > S.lastS'.last > S.last 所有 sS 之中,s + lockout(s) < X'
  • X > X' 意味着 X > S.lastS.last > S'.last 所有 sS'之中,s + lockout(s) < X

(最后两个规则意味着范围不能重叠):否则,验证程序将被罚没。

范围(投票) - 投票 v = vote(X, S), 定义 Range(v) 为插槽 [X, S.last]的范围。

SP(old_vote,new_vote)-这是验证节点最新投票old_vote的“切换证明”。 每当验证节点切换其参考位(请参见上面的投票部分) 时,此类证明都是必需的。 切换证明包括对old_vote的引用,因此存在old_vote的范围是什么的记录(以使该范围内的其他冲突开关可被罚没)。 这样的开关仍必须遵守锁定条件。

交换证明表明,网络的> 1/3被锁定在old_vote.last插槽中。

证明是元素(validator_id,validator_vote(X,S))的列表,其中:

  1. 所有验证节点ID的质押总和> 1/3

  2. 对于每 (validator_id, validator_voite(X, S)),在 S 中存在一些插槽 s 其中: a.s 不是两者的共同祖先 validator_vote.lastvote.lastnew_vote.last b. s 不是 validator_voote.last 的后代。 * c. s + s.lockout() >= old_vote.last (隐含着验证节点仍然被锁定在old_vote.lasts 插槽)。

在没有有效切换证明的情况下切换分叉是可罚没的。

定义:#

乐观确认 - 如果一个模块 B 已经实现"乐观确认",假如 >2/3 质押以投票方式投票 v,其中 Range(v) 对每个这样的 v 包括 B.slot

已完成 - 如果至少有一个正确的验证节点已植入 B 或是 B 的后代,那么就说区块 B 已经完成。

已恢复 - 如果另一个 B' 不是 B 的父级或后代,则说区块 B已恢复。

保障:#

除非至少罚没了一个验证节点,否则已经达成乐观确认的区块B将不会恢复。

证明:#

假定是出于矛盾, 一个区块 B 已经在某些槽位 B + n对于某些 n实现了乐观确认 并且:

  • 另一个区块 B' 不是已经完成的区块 B 的父级或后代。
  • 没有验证节点违反任何罚没条件。

乐观确认的定义,意味着 > 2/3 验证程序中的每一个都显示了一些投票 v 表单 Vote(X, S) X <= B <= v.last。 称这组验证节点为 乐观验证节点

现在给定 乐观验证节点的一个验证节点 v ,有vVote(X, S)Vote(X', S')的两个投票,其中 X <= B <= S.lastX' <= B <= S'.last,然后 X == X' 否则违反了“乐观罚没”条件(每次投票的“幅度”会重叠在 B)。

因此,将乐观投票定义为乐观验证节点做出的一组投票,其中,对于每个乐观验证节点v而言,集合中包括的v做出的投票就是最大投票(X, S),在满足X <= B <= S.lastv做出的任何投票中,具有最高的S.last。 因为我们从上方知道X对由v做出的所有此类投票都是唯一的,所以我们知道有如此独特的对maximal进行的投票。

引理 1:#

声明:给出了由乐观验证节点集中的验证节点V做出的Vote(X, S)投票,而S包含了针对s插槽表决,其中:

  • s + s.lockout > B,
  • s 不是 B 的前辈或后代,

那么 X > B

+-------+
| |
+---------+ +--------+
| | | |
| +-------+ |
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | X'
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | B (Optimistically Confirmed)
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | S'.last
| | |
| +-------+
|
+---+---+
| |
X | |
| |
+---+---+
|
|
|
|
|
|
+---+---+
| |
S.last | |
| |
+---+---+
|
|
|
|
+---+---+
| |
s + s.lockout | |
+-------+

证明: 假定为了与验证节点 V 从设置的“乐观验证节点”进行了这样一次投票 Voite(X, S) 其中 S 包含对一个插槽的投票,s 不是 B 的一个父辈或后代,其中 ss + s.lockout > B, 但是 X <= B

Vote(X', S')为验证节点V所做的乐观投票集合中的投票。 根据该集合的定义(所有选票均乐观地确认为B),X' <= B <= S'.last (请参见上图)。

这意味着,因为假定它在 X <= B,然后在 X <= B上,所以根据罚没规则, X == X' or X < X'(否则会重叠范围(X', S'.last))。

Case X == X':

考虑 s。 我们知道 s != X ,因为它假定 s 不是B的一个祖先或后代 , XB 的祖先。 因为 S'.lastB的后代,意味着 s 也不是S.last的祖先或后代。 然后因为 S.last 来自 s,然后又 S.last 不能是 S.last的祖先或后代。 这意味着根据"乐观罚没"规则,X != X

Case X < X':

直觉上,这意味着 Vote(X, S) 是在 Vote(X, S)之前发生的。

根据上述假设, s + s.lockout > B > X'。 因为s不是X'的祖先,所以当此验证节点首次尝试以Vote(X', S'')的形式向X'提交切换表决时,将违反锁定。

由于这些情况均不成立,因此该假设必定无效,并且假设已得到证明。

引理 2:#

回想一下,B'是在与乐观地确认的B区块不同的分叉上最终确定的区块。

声明: 任何投票 Vote(X, S)乐观投票 集合中必须为 B' > X

+-------+
| |
+--------+ +---------+
| | | |
| +-------+ |
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | X
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | B (Optimistically Confirmed)
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | S.last
| | |
| +-------+
|
+---+---+
| |
B'(Finalized) | |
| |
+-------+

证明: 让 Vote(X, S)乐观投票 集合中的一次投票。 然后按定义,给出"最佳确认" 区块 B, X <= B <= S.last

因为 XB的父类,并且 B' 不是 B,那么:

  • B' != X
  • B' 不是 X 的父类

现在请考虑是否 B' < X:

Case B' < X: 我们会证明这样是违反锁定的。 从上面我们知道 B' 不是 X 的父级。 从上面我们知道B‘不是X的父代。然后,因为B'是根植的,所以验证节点不应该能够对不是来自区块B'的更高插槽X进行投票。

安全性证明:#

现在,我们旨在显示乐观验证节点集合中至少有一个验证节点违反了罚没的规则。

首先要注意的是,为了使B'已经植入根目录,必须有> 2/3的质押对B'B'的后代进行投票。 假设乐观验证节点集还包含> 2/3的质押验证节点,则得出> 1/3的质押验证节点:

  • 根植于 B'B的后代
  • 也提交了一个表 Vote(X, S) 的投票 v,其中 X <= B <= v.last

Delinquent 设置为符合以上标准的验证集。

根据定义,为了根植于 B', 每个验证节点 VDelinquent 都必须对表单进行一些"切换投票" Vote(X_v, S_v),其中:

  • S_v.last > B'
  • S_v.lastB' 的后代,因此它不能是 B 的后代。
  • 因为 S_v.last 不是 B 的后代, 然后 X_v 不能是 B 的后代或祖先。

根据定义,这个过时的验证人V还在乐观投票中进行了 Vote(X, S),其中根据该集合的定义(经过乐观确认的B),我们知道 S.last >= B >= X

通过引理2,我们知道 B' > X,以及上文的 S_v.last > B',所以S_v.last > X。 因为 X_v != X (不能从上方成为B的后代或祖先),那么根据罚没规则,我们知道 X_v > S.last。 上面有 S.last >= B >= X ,因此对于所有这样的切换投票,有 X_v > B

现在按顺序排列所有这些切换投票,假设V乐观验证节点中的验证节点,该它首先提交这样的切换投票Vote(X', S'),其中 X' > B。 我们知道存在这样的验证节点,因为从上面知道所有违规验证节点都必须提交这样的投票,并且违规验证节点是乐观验证节点的子集。

Vote(X, S)为验证节点V(最大化S.last)在乐观投票中的唯一投票。

给定Vote(X, S),因为 X' > B >= X,然后给出 X' > X,因此按照“乐观罚没”规则,得出 X' > S.last

为了对 X' 执行这样的“切换投票”,切换证明 SP(Vote(X, S), Vote(X', S')) 必须显示 > 1/3 的质押锁定此验证节点的最新投票S.last。 将此 >1/3乐观投票者集合中的一组验证节点的质押 >1/3 这个事实结合,就意味着乐观投票者中至少有一个乐观验证节点W。集合必须已提交投票(回顾切换证明的定义),验证节点V的插槽X'的切换证明中包含的Vote(X_w, S_w),其中S_w包含了一个插槽s,所以有:

  • s 不是 S.lastX' 的共同祖先
  • s 不是 S.last 的后代。
  • s' + s'.lockout > S.last

因为 BS.last的祖先,那么下面也是真的:

  • s 不是 BX' 的共同祖先
  • s' + s'.lockout > B

包含在 V 的切换证明中。

现在,由于W也是乐观投票者的成员,因此由上面的引理1决定,由W投票,即 Vote(X_w, S_w),其中S_w包含对插槽s的投票,其中 s + s.lockout > B,并且s不是B的祖先,那么 X_w > B

因为验证节点V在其为X'插槽进行切换的证明中包括了投票Vote(X_w, S_w),所以隐含了验证节点V'在投票给 vote Vote(X_w, S_w) 之前V 就对插槽 X' 进行了 Vote(X', S') 投票。

但这是一个矛盾,因为我们选择 Vote(X', S')作为乐观投票者集合中任何验证节点的第一票,其中 X' > BX'不是B的后代。

Optimistic Confirmation

Primitives

vote(X, S) - Votes will be augmented with a "reference" slot, X which is the latest ancestor of this fork that this validator voted on with a proof of switching. As long as the validator makes consecutive votes that are all descended from each other, the same X should be used for all those votes. When the validator makes a vote for a slot s that is not descended from the previous, X will be set to the new slot s. All votes will then be of the form vote(X, S), where S is the sorted list of slots (s, s.lockout) being voted for.

Given a vote vote(X, S), let S.last == vote.last be the last slot in S.

Now we define some "Optimistic Slashing" slashing conditions. The intuition for these is described below:

  • Intuition: If a validator submits vote(X, S), the same validator should not have voted on a different fork that "overlaps" this fork. More concretely, this validator should not have cast another vote vote(X', S') where the range [X, S.last] overlaps the range [X', S'.last], X != X', as shown below:
+-------+
| |
+---------+ +--------+
| | | |
| +-------+ |
| |
| |
| |
+---+---+ |
| | |
X | | |
| | |
+---+---+ |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | X'
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | S'.last
| | |
| +-------+
|
+---+---+
| |
s | |
| |
+---+---+
|
|
|
|
+---+---+
| |
S.last | |
| |
+-------+

(Example of slashable votes vote(X', S') and vote(X, S))

In the diagram above, note that the vote for S.last must have been sent after the vote for S'.last (due to lockouts, the higher vote must have been sent later). Thus, the sequence of votes must have been: X ... S'.last ... S.last. This means after the vote on S'.last, the validator must have switched back to the other fork at some slot s > S'.last > X. Thus, the vote for S.last should have used s as the "reference" point, not X, because that was the last "switch" on the fork.

To enforce this, we define the "Optimistic Slashing" slashing conditions. Given any two distinct votes vote(X, S)and vote(X', S') by the same validator, the votes must satisfy:

  • X <= S.last, X' <= S'.last
  • All s in S are ancestors/descendants of one another, all s' in S' are ancsestors/descendants of one another,
  • X == X' implies S is parent of S' or S' is a parent of S
  • X' > X implies X' > S.last and S'.last > S.last and for all s in S, s + lockout(s) < X'
  • X > X' implies X > S'.last and S.last > S'.last and for all s in S', s + lockout(s) < X

(The last two rules imply the ranges cannot overlap): Otherwise the validator is slashed.

Range(vote) - Given a vote v = vote(X, S), define Range(v) to be the range of slots [X, S.last].

SP(old_vote, new_vote) - This is the "Switching Proof" for old_vote, the validator's latest vote. Such a proof is necessary anytime a validator switches their "reference" slot (see vote section above). The switching proof includes a reference to old_vote, so that there's a record of what the "range" of that old_vote was (to make other conflicting switches in this range slashable). Such a switch must still respect lockouts.

A switching proof shows that > 1/3 of the network is locked out at slot old_vote.last.

The proof is a list of elements (validator_id, validator_vote(X, S)), where:

  1. The sum of the stakes of all the validator id's > 1/3

  2. For each (validator_id, validator_vote(X, S)), there exists some slot s in S where: a.s is not a common ancestor of both validator_vote.last and old_vote.last and new_vote.last. b. s is not a descendant of validator_vote.last. * c. s + s.lockout() >= old_vote.last (implies validator is still locked out on slot s at slot old_vote.last).

Switching forks without a valid switching proof is slashable.

Definitions:

Optimistic Confirmation - A block B is then said to have achieved "optimistic confirmation" if >2/3 of stake have voted with votes v where Range(v) for each such v includes B.slot.

Finalized - A block B is said to be finalized if at least one correct validator has rooted B or a descendant of B.

Reverted - A block B is said to be reverted if another block B' that is not a parent or descendant of B was finalized.

Guarantees:

A block B that has reached optimistic confirmation will not be reverted unless at least one validator is slashed.

Proof:

Assume for the sake of contradiction, a block B has achieved optimistic confirmation at some slot B + n for some n, and:

  • Another block B' that is not a parent or descendant of B was finalized.
  • No validators violated any slashing conditions.

By the definition of optimistic confirmation, this means > 2/3 of validators have each shown some vote v of the form Vote(X, S) where X <= B <= v.last. Call this set of validators the Optimistic Validators.

Now given a validator v in Optimistic Validators, given two votes made by v, Vote(X, S) and Vote(X', S') where X <= B <= S.last, and X' <= B <= S'.last, then X == X' otherwise an "Optimistic Slashing" condition is violated (the "ranges" of each vote would overlap at B).

Thus define the Optimistic Votes to be the set of votes made by Optimistic Validators, where for each optimistic validator v, the vote made by v included in the set is the maximal vote Vote(X, S) with the greatest S.last out of any votes made by v that satisfy X <= B <= S.last. Because we know from above X for all such votes made by v is unique, we know there is such a unique maximal vote.

Lemma 1:

Claim: Given a vote Vote(X, S) made by a validator V in the Optimistic Validators set, and S contains a vote for a slot s for which:

  • s + s.lockout > B,
  • s is not an ancestor or descendant of B,

then X > B.

+-------+
| |
+---------+ +--------+
| | | |
| +-------+ |
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | X'
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | B (Optimistically Confirmed)
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | S'.last
| | |
| +-------+
|
+---+---+
| |
X | |
| |
+---+---+
|
|
|
|
|
|
+---+---+
| |
S.last | |
| |
+---+---+
|
|
|
|
+---+---+
| |
s + s.lockout | |
+-------+

Proof: Assume for the sake of contradiction a validator V from the "Optimistic Validators" set made such a vote Vote(X, S) where S contains a vote for a slot s not an ancestor or descendant of B, where s + s.lockout > B, but X <= B.

Let Vote(X', S') be the vote in Optimistic Votes set made by validator V. By definition of that set (all votes optimistically confirmed B), X' <= B <= S'.last (see diagram above).

This implies that because it's assumed above X <= B, then X <= S'.last, so by the slashing rules, either X == X' or X < X' (otherwise would overlap the range (X', S'.last)).

Case X == X':

Consider s. We know s != X because it is assumed s is not an ancestor or descendant of B, and X is an ancestor of B. Because S'.last is a descendant of B, this means s is also not an ancestor or descendant of S'.last. Then because S.last is descended from s, then S'.last cannot be an ancestor or descendant of S.last either. This implies X != X' by the "Optimistic Slashing" rules.

Case X < X':

Intuitively, this implies that Vote(X, S) was made "before" Vote(X', S').

From the assumption above, s + s.lockout > B > X'. Because s is not an ancestor of X', lockouts would have been violated when this validator first attempted to submit a switching vote to X' with some vote of the form Vote(X', S'').

Since none of these cases are valid, the assumption must have been invalid, and the claim is proven.

Lemma 2:

Recall B' was the block finalized on a different fork than "optimistically" confirmed" block B.

Claim: For any vote Vote(X, S) in the Optimistic Votes set, it must be true that B' > X

+-------+
| |
+--------+ +---------+
| | | |
| +-------+ |
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | X
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | B (Optimistically Confirmed)
| | |
| +---+---+
| |
| |
| |
| +---+---+
| | |
| | | S.last
| | |
| +-------+
|
+---+---+
| |
B'(Finalized) | |
| |
+-------+

Proof: Let Vote(X, S) be a vote in the Optimistic Votes set. Then by definition, given the "optimistcally confirmed" block B, X <= B <= S.last.

Because X is a parent of B, and B' is not a parent or ancestor of B, then:

  • B' != X
  • B' is not a parent of X

Now consider if B' < X:

Case B' < X: We wll show this is a violation of lockouts. From above, we know B' is not a parent of X. Then because B' was rooted, and B' is not a parent of X, then the validator should not have been able to vote on the higher slot X that does not descend from B'.

Proof of Safety:

We now aim to show at least one of the validators in the Optimistic Validators set violated a slashing rule.

First note that in order for B' to have been rooted, there must have been > 2/3 stake that voted on B' or a descendant of B'. Given that the Optimistic Validator set also contains > 2/3 of the staked validators, it follows that > 1/3 of the staked validators:

  • Rooted B' or a descendant of B'
  • Also submitted a vote v of the form Vote(X, S) where X <= B <= v.last.

Let the Delinquent set be the set of validators that meet the above criteria.

By definition, in order to root B', each validator V in Delinquent must have each made some "switching vote" of the form Vote(X_v, S_v) where:

  • S_v.last > B'
  • S_v.last is a descendant of B', so it can't be a descendant of B
  • Because S_v.last is not a descendant of B, then X_v cannot be a descendant or ancestor of B.

By definition, this delinquent validator V also made some vote Vote(X, S) in the Optimistic Votes where by definition of that set (optimistically confirmed B), we know S.last >= B >= X.

By Lemma 2 we know B' > X, and from above S_v.last > B', so then S_v.last > X. Because X_v != X (cannot be a descendant or ancestor of B from above), then by the slashing rules then, we know X_v > S.last. From above, S.last >= B >= X so for all such "switching votes", X_v > B.

Now ordering all these "switching votes" in time, let V to be the validator in Optimistic Validators that first submitted such a "swtching vote" Vote(X', S'), where X' > B. We know that such a validator exists because we know from above that all delinquent validators must have submitted such a vote, and the delinquent validators are a subset of the Optimistic Validators.

Let Vote(X, S) be the unique vote in Optimistic Votes made by validator V (maximizing S.last).

Given Vote(X, S) because X' > B >= X, then X' > X, so by the "Optimistic Slashing" rules, X' > S.last.

In order to perform such a "switching vote" to X', a switching proof SP(Vote(X, S), Vote(X', S')) must show > 1/3 of stake being locked out at this validator's latest vote, S.last. Combine this >1/3 with the fact that the set of validators in the Optimistic Voters set consists of > 2/3 of the stake, implies at least one optimistic validator W from the Optimistic Voters set must have submitted a vote (recall the definition of a switching proof),Vote(X_w, S_w) that was included in validator V's switching proof for slot X', where S_w contains a slot s such that:

  • s is not a common ancestor of S.last and X'
  • s is not a descendant of S.last.
  • s' + s'.lockout > S.last

Because B is an ancestor of S.last, it is also true then:

  • s is not a common ancestor of B and X'
  • s' + s'.lockout > B

which was included in V's switching proof.

Now because W is also a member of Optimistic Voters, then by the Lemma 1 above, given a vote by W, Vote(X_w, S_w), where S_w contains a vote for a slot s where s + s.lockout > B, and s is not an ancestor of B, then X_w > B.

Because validator V included vote Vote(X_w, S_w) in its proof of switching for slot X', then his implies validator V' submitted vote Vote(X_w, S_w) before validator V submitted its switching vote for slot X', Vote(X', S').

But this is a contradiction because we chose Vote(X', S') to be the first vote made by any validator in the Optimistic Voters set where X' > B and X' is not a descendant of B.