Skip to main content

简介

Solana是什么?#

Solana是一个开源项目,它实现了一个全新的高性能无许可区块链。 Solana基金会位于瑞士日内瓦,维护着开源项目。

为什么需要Solana?#

如果平均每个交易不超过176个字节,则标准数据库可能每秒可以处理710,000个交易。 中心化数据库还可以使用称为Optimistic Concurrency Control[H.T.Kung, J.T.Robinson (1981)]的分布式系统技术来复制自身并保持高可用性,而不会显着损害交易处理速率。 在Solana,我们证明了这些相同的理论极限同样适用于对抗网络上的区块链。 关键点在哪里? 当节点无法彼此信任时,我们找到了一种共享时间的方法。 一旦节点可以相互信任,40年的分布式系统研究经验就可以应用于区块链了!

也许我们的方法与基于超时(timeout) 算法之间最显着的区别是,使用超时会产生一种传统的分布式算法,其中进程异步运行,而我们的方法产生一种全局同步的算法,其中每个进程在同一时刻都执行相同的操作。 我们的方法似乎与分布式处理的整个目的相矛盾,后者旨在允许不同的进程独立运行并执行不同的功能。 但是,如果分布式系统实际上是单个系统,则必须以某种方式同步进程。 从概念上讲,同步流程的最简单方法是让所有流程同时执行相同的操作。 因此,我们的方法用于实现和执行必要同步的内核——例如,确保两个不同的进程不会尝试在同一时间修改文件。 进程可能只花费一小部分时间来执行同步内核;在其余时间里,它们可以独立运行——例如访问不同的文件。 即使在不需要容错的情况下,这也是我们提倡的一种方法。 该方法的基本简单性使其更易于理解系统的精确属性,这对于了解系统的容错能力至关重要。 [L.Lamport (1984)]

此外,令我们惊讶的是,它可以使用从第一天开始就存在于比特币中的一种机制来实现。 比特币功能称为nLocktime,它可用于使用区块高度而不是时间戳记来对交易进行排序。 作为比特币客户端,如果您不信任网络,则可以使用区块高度而不是时间戳。 事实证明,区块高度是密码学界所谓的“可验证延迟功能”的一个实例。 这是一种表示时间已过去的加密安全方法。 在Solana中,我们使用更细粒度的可验证延迟函数SHA 256哈希链来检查并协调共识。 有了它,我们实现了乐观并发控制,现在正朝着每秒710,000个事务的理论极限迈进。

文件概述#

Solana文档描述了Solana开源项目,这是一个从头开始大规模构建的区块链。 它们涵盖了Solana可用的原因,使用方法,工作原理以及即使Solana倒闭以后,很长一段时间内它将继续工作。 Solana架构的目标是证明了存在一套软件算法,当结合使用这些算法来实现区块链时,它消除了软件的性能瓶颈,使交易吞吐量与网络带宽成比例扩展。 该架构继续满足适当区块链的所有三个理想特性:可扩展、安全性和去中心化。

该体系结构描述了标准千兆位网络上每秒71万笔交易 (tps) 的理论上限,而40GB上每秒2840万tps的交易上限。 此外,该体系结构支持安全,并发地执行以通用编程语言(例如C或Rust)编写的程序。

什么是 Solana 集群?#

群集是一组可以协同工作的计算机,可以从外部将其视为单个系统。 Solana集群是一组相互独立的计算机,这些计算机一起工作(有时互相冲突),以验证用户提交的不可信程序输出。 只要用户希望及时保留事件的不变记录或这些事件的程序解释,就可以利用Solana集群。 一种用途是跟踪哪些计算机做了有意义的工作来保持群集运行。 另一个用途可能是跟踪对现实世界资产的拥有权。 在每种情况下,集群都会生成一个称为账本的事件记录。 它将在群集的整个生命周期内保留。 只要世界上某个地方的某人维护了的副本,其程序的输出(可能包含谁拥有什么的记录) 将永远是可复制的,而与发起它的组织无关。

什么是SOL?#

SOL是Solana原生代币的名称,可以将其传递给Solana集群中的节点,以换取运行链上程序或验证其输出。 系统可以执行分数SOL的微支付,称为lamports。 它们的名称是为了纪念Solana的最大技术影响力Leslie Lamport。 1 Lamport的值为0.000000001 SOL。

免责声明#

本项目中描述的所有索赔、内容、设计、算法、预估、路线图、规格和性能度量均由作者尽力而为。 读者应检查并验证其准确性和真实性。 此外,该项目中的任何内容都不构成投资的行为。

Introduction

What is Solana?

Solana is an open source project implementing a new, high-performance, permissionless blockchain. The Solana Foundation is based in Geneva, Switzerland and maintains the open source project.

Why Solana?

It is possible for a centralized database to process 710,000 transactions per second on a standard gigabit network if the transactions are, on average, no more than 176 bytes. A centralized database can also replicate itself and maintain high availability without significantly compromising that transaction rate using the distributed system technique known as Optimistic Concurrency Control [H.T.Kung, J.T.Robinson (1981)]. At Solana, we are demonstrating that these same theoretical limits apply just as well to blockchain on an adversarial network. The key ingredient? Finding a way to share time when nodes cannot trust one-another. Once nodes can trust time, suddenly ~40 years of distributed systems research becomes applicable to blockchain!

Perhaps the most striking difference between algorithms obtained by our method and ones based upon timeout is that using timeout produces a traditional distributed algorithm in which the processes operate asynchronously, while our method produces a globally synchronous one in which every process does the same thing at (approximately) the same time. Our method seems to contradict the whole purpose of distributed processing, which is to permit different processes to operate independently and perform different functions. However, if a distributed system is really a single system, then the processes must be synchronized in some way. Conceptually, the easiest way to synchronize processes is to get them all to do the same thing at the same time. Therefore, our method is used to implement a kernel that performs the necessary synchronization--for example, making sure that two different processes do not try to modify a file at the same time. Processes might spend only a small fraction of their time executing the synchronizing kernel; the rest of the time, they can operate independently--e.g., accessing different files. This is an approach we have advocated even when fault-tolerance is not required. The method's basic simplicity makes it easier to understand the precise properties of a system, which is crucial if one is to know just how fault-tolerant the system is. [L.Lamport (1984)]

Furthermore, and much to our surprise, it can be implemented using a mechanism that has existed in Bitcoin since day one. The Bitcoin feature is called nLocktime and it can be used to postdate transactions using block height instead of a timestamp. As a Bitcoin client, you would use block height instead of a timestamp if you don't trust the network. Block height turns out to be an instance of what's being called a Verifiable Delay Function in cryptography circles. It's a cryptographically secure way to say time has passed. In Solana, we use a far more granular verifiable delay function, a SHA 256 hash chain, to checkpoint the ledger and coordinate consensus. With it, we implement Optimistic Concurrency Control and are now well en route towards that theoretical limit of 710,000 transactions per second.

Documentation Overview

The Solana docs describe the Solana open source project, a blockchain built from the ground up for scale. They cover why Solana is useful, how to use it, how it works, and why it will continue to work long after the company Solana closes its doors. The goal of the Solana architecture is to demonstrate there exists a set of software algorithms that when used in combination to implement a blockchain, removes software as a performance bottleneck, allowing transaction throughput to scale proportionally with network bandwidth. The architecture goes on to satisfy all three desirable properties of a proper blockchain: it is scalable, secure and decentralized.

The architecture describes a theoretical upper bound of 710 thousand transactions per second (tps) on a standard gigabit network and 28.4 million tps on 40 gigabit. Furthermore, the architecture supports safe, concurrent execution of programs authored in general purpose programming languages such as C or Rust.

What is a Solana Cluster?

A cluster is a set of computers that work together and can be viewed from the outside as a single system. A Solana cluster is a set of independently owned computers working together (and sometimes against each other) to verify the output of untrusted, user-submitted programs. A Solana cluster can be utilized any time a user wants to preserve an immutable record of events in time or programmatic interpretations of those events. One use is to track which of the computers did meaningful work to keep the cluster running. Another use might be to track the possession of real-world assets. In each case, the cluster produces a record of events called the ledger. It will be preserved for the lifetime of the cluster. As long as someone somewhere in the world maintains a copy of the ledger, the output of its programs (which may contain a record of who possesses what) will forever be reproducible, independent of the organization that launched it.

What are SOLs?

A SOL is the name of Solana's native token, which can be passed to nodes in a Solana cluster in exchange for running an on-chain program or validating its output. The system may perform micropayments of fractional SOLs, which are called lamports. They are named in honor of Solana's biggest technical influence, Leslie Lamport. A lamport has a value of 0.000000001 SOL.

Disclaimer

All claims, content, designs, algorithms, estimates, roadmaps, specifications, and performance measurements described in this project are done with the author's best effort. It is up to the reader to check and validate their accuracy and truthfulness. Furthermore, nothing in this project constitutes a solicitation for investment.