Skip to main content

Solana ABI管理流程

本文件提出了Solana ABI管理流程。 ABI管理流程是一种工程实践和一个支持性的技术框架,以避免引入意外的不兼容的ABI变化。

面临的问题#

Solana ABI(集群的二进制接口) 目前仅由实现隐式定义,需要非常仔细的观察才能注意到破坏性的变化。 这使得在不重启账本的情况下,在现有集群上升级软件非常困难。

需求和目标#

  • 意外的ABI变化可以被机械地检测为CI故障
  • 新的实现必须能够处理最老的数据(世纪以来),一旦我们进入主网。
  • 这个建议的目的是保护ABI,同时通过选择机械过程而不是非常长的人为驱动的审计过程来维持相当快速的发展。
  • 一旦经过加密签名,数据blob必须是相同的,所以无论在线系统的入站和出站,都不可能进行原地数据格式更新。 另外,考虑到我们要处理的交易量,最好不要进行追溯性的就地更新。

解决方案#

我们需要一个系统性的保证,在修改源码时不破坏集群,而不是自然的人为尽职,因为人为尽职被假定为经常发生故障。

为此,我们引入了一种机制,在源代码中对每一个与ABI相关的事物(structs, enums) 用新的#[frozen_abi]属性进行标记。 它通过ser::Serialize从其字段的类型中提取硬编码的摘要值。 而且该属性会自动生成一个单元测试,试图检测任何未经批准的对标记的ABI相关事物的更改。

但是,检测不可能是完全的,无论我们如何努力静态分析源代码,仍然有可能破坏ABI。 例如,这包括非派生的手写ser::Serialize、底层库的实现变化(例如bincode)、CPU架构差异。 对这些可能的ABI不兼容的检测不在这个ABI管理的范围之内。

定义#

ABI项目/类型:用于序列化的各种类型,共同构成任何系统组件的整个ABI。 例如,这些类型包括structs和enums。

ABI项目摘要。从ABI项的字段的类型信息导出的一些固定的哈希值。

示例#

+#[frozen_abi(digest="eXSMM7b89VY72V...")]
#[derive(Serialize, Default, Deserialize, Debug, PartialEq, Eq, Clone)]
pub struct Vote {
/// A stack of votes starting with the oldest vote
pub slots: Vec<Slot>,
/// signature of the bank's state at the last slot
pub hash: Hash,
}

开发者的工作流程#

为了知道新的ABI项目的摘要,开发人员可以用一个随机的摘要值添加frozen_abi,然后运行单元测试,并从断言测试错误信息中用正确的摘要来替换它。

一般来说,一旦我们添加了frozen_abi,并且它的变化被发布在稳定版本频道中,它的摘要应该永远不会改变。 如果需要这样的改变,我们应该选择定义一个新的struct,比如FooV1。 而特殊的发布流程,比如硬分叉,则应该类似。

实施说明#

我们使用某种程度的宏机制来自动生成单元测试,并从ABI项目中计算出一个摘要。 通过巧妙地使用serde::Serialize([1])和any::type_name([2])可以实现这一点。 对于类似的实现先例,Parity Technologies[3]中的ink可以作为参考。

实现细节#

本实施方案的目标是尽可能自动检测ABI的意外变化。 为此,结构性ABI信息的摘要是以最大努力的准确性和稳定性计算的。

当ABI摘要检查运行时,通过重复使用serde的序列化功能、过程宏和通用特殊化功能,对ABI项的字段的ABI进行递归摘要,动态计算出ABI摘要。 然后,检查assert!其最终的摘要值与frozen_abi属性中指定的相同。

为了实现这一点,它创建了一个该类型的实例和一个自定义的Serializer实例,为serde递归遍历它的字段,就像真正的序列化实例一样。 这种遍历必须通过serde来完成,才能真正捕捉到什么样的数据实际上会被serde序列化,即使考虑到定制的非派生Serialize接口实现。

ABI摘要过程#

这一部分有点复杂。 有三个相互依赖的部分:AbiExampleAbiDigesterAbiEnumVisitor

首先,生成的测试会创建一个摘要类型的实例,这个实例有一个叫做AbiExample的接口,它应该像Serialize一样为所有的摘要类型实现,并像Default接口一样返回Self。 通常情况下,它是通过通用的接口特殊化来提供给大多数常见类型的。 也可以为structenum进行派生,如果需要,也可以手工编写。

自定义的serializer被称为AbiDigester。 而当它被serde调用来序列化一些数据时,它会尽可能地递归收集ABI信息。 AbiDigester根据数据类型的不同,对ABI摘要的内部状态进行不同的更新。 这个逻辑是通过一个名为AbiEnumVisitor的接口为每个enum类型专门重定向的。 顾名思义,没有必要为其他类型实现AbiEnumVisitor

总结一下这种相互作用,serdeAbiDigester串联处理递归序列化控制流。 测试中的初始入口点和子AbiDigester使用AbiExample递归地创建一个示例对象层次图。 而AbiDigester使用AbiEnumVisitor使用构建的样本查询实际的ABI信息。

Default对于AbiExample来说是不够的。 多种集合的::default()是空的,但我们想用实际的项目来摘要它们。 而且,ABI摘要不能只用AbiEnumVisitor来实现。 需要AbiExample是因为需要一个实际的类型实例来通过serde实际遍历数据。

另一方面,ABI摘要也不能只用AbiExample来完成。 需要AbiEnumVisitor,因为一个enum的所有变体不能只用它的一个变体作为ABI实例来遍历。

可摘要的信息:

  • rust的类型名称
  • serde的数据类型名称。
  • struct中的所有字段
  • enum中的所有变体。
  • struct:正常(struct {...}) 和元组式(struct(...))
  • enum:正常变体和struct-和tuple-风格。
  • 属性:serde(serialize_with=...)serde(skip)

不可摘要的信息:

  • AbiExample提供的样本未触及的任何自定义序列化代码路径。 (技术上不可能)
  • 属(必须是具体类型;对具体类型别名使用frozen_abi)

参考文献#

  1. (De)Serialization with type info · Issue #1095 · serde-rs/serde
  2. std::any::type_name - Rust
  3. Parity's ink to write smart contracts

Solana ABI management process

This document proposes the Solana ABI management process. The ABI management process is an engineering practice and a supporting technical framework to avoid introducing unintended incompatible ABI changes.

Problem

The Solana ABI (binary interface to the cluster) is currently only defined implicitly by the implementation and requires a very careful eye to notice breaking changes. This makes it extremely difficult to upgrade the software on an existing cluster without rebooting the ledger.

Requirements and objectives

  • Unintended ABI changes can be detected as CI failures mechanically.
  • Newer implementation must be able to process the oldest data (since genesis) once we go mainnet.
  • The objective of this proposal is to protect the ABI while sustaining rather rapid development by opting for a mechanical process rather than a very long human-driven auditing process.
  • Once signed cryptographically, data blob must be identical, so no in-place data format update is possible regardless of inbound and outbound of the online system. Also, considering the sheer volume of transactions we're aiming to handle, retrospective in-place update is undesirable at best.

Solution

Instead of natural human's eye due-diligence, which should be assumed to fail regularly, we need a systematic assurance of not breaking the cluster when changing the source code.

For that purpose, we introduce a mechanism of marking every ABI-related things in source code (structs, enums) with the new #[frozen_abi] attribute. This takes hard-coded digest value derived from types of its fields via ser::Serialize. And the attribute automatically generates a unit test to try to detect any unsanctioned changes to the marked ABI-related things.

However, the detection cannot be complete; no matter how hard we statically analyze the source code, it's still possible to break ABI. For example, this includes not-derived hand-written ser::Serialize, underlying library's implementation changes (for example bincode), CPU architecture differences. The detection of these possible ABI incompatibilities is out-of-scope for this ABI management.

Definitions

ABI item/type: various types to be used for serialization, which collectively comprises the whole ABI for any system components. For example, those types include structs and enums.

ABI item digest: Some fixed hash derived from type information of ABI item's fields.

Example

+#[frozen_abi(digest="eXSMM7b89VY72V...")]
#[derive(Serialize, Default, Deserialize, Debug, PartialEq, Eq, Clone)]
pub struct Vote {
/// A stack of votes starting with the oldest vote
pub slots: Vec<Slot>,
/// signature of the bank's state at the last slot
pub hash: Hash,
}

Developer's workflow

To know the digest for new ABI items, developers can add frozen_abi with a random digest value and run the unit tests and replace it with the correct digest from the assertion test error message.

In general, once we add frozen_abi and its change is published in the stable release channel, its digest should never change. If such a change is needed, we should opt for defining a new struct like FooV1. And special release flow like hard forks should be approached.

Implementation remarks

We use some degree of macro machinery to automatically generate unit tests and calculate a digest from ABI items. This is doable by clever use of serde::Serialize ([1]) and any::type_name ([2]). For a precedent for similar implementation, ink from the Parity Technologies [3] could be informational.

Implementation details

The implementation's goal is to detect unintended ABI changes automatically as much as possible. To that end, the digest of structural ABI information is calculated with best-effort accuracy and stability.

When the ABI digest check is run, it dynamically computes an ABI digest by recursively digesting the ABI of fields of the ABI item, by re-using the serde's serialization functionality, proc macro and generic specialization. And then, the check assert!s that its finalized digest value is identical as what is specified in the frozen_abi attribute.

To realize that, it creates an example instance of the type and a custom Serializer instance for serde to recursively traverse its fields as if serializing the example for real. This traversing must be done via serde to really capture what kinds of data actually would be serialized by serde, even considering custom non-derived Serialize trait implementations.

The ABI digesting process

This part is a bit complex. There is three inter-depending parts: AbiExample, AbiDigester and AbiEnumVisitor.

First, the generated test creates an example instance of the digested type with a trait called AbiExample, which should be implemented for all of digested types like the Serialize and return Self like the Default trait. Usually, it's provided via generic trait specialization for most of common types. Also it is possible to derive for struct and enum and can be hand-written if needed.

The custom Serializer is called AbiDigester. And when it's called by serde to serialize some data, it recursively collects ABI information as much as possible. AbiDigester's internal state for the ABI digest is updated differentially depending on the type of data. This logic is specifically redirected via with a trait called AbiEnumVisitor for each enum type. As the name suggests, there is no need to implement AbiEnumVisitor for other types.

To summarize this interplay, serde handles the recursive serialization control flow in tandem with AbiDigester. The initial entry point in tests and child AbiDigesters use AbiExample recursively to create an example object hierarchal graph. And AbiDigester uses AbiEnumVisitor to inquiry the actual ABI information using the constructed sample.

Default isn't enough for AbiExample. Various collection's ::default() is empty, yet, we want to digest them with actual items. And, ABI digesting can't be realized only with AbiEnumVisitor. AbiExample is required because an actual instance of type is needed to actually traverse the data via serde.

On the other hand, ABI digesting can't be done only with AbiExample, either. AbiEnumVisitor is required because all variants of an enum cannot be traversed just with a single variant of it as a ABI example.

Digestable information:

  • rust's type name
  • serde's data type name
  • all fields in struct
  • all variants in enum
  • struct: normal(struct {...}) and tuple-style (struct(...))
  • enum: normal variants and struct- and tuple- styles.
  • attributes: serde(serialize_with=...) and serde(skip)

Not digestable information:

  • Any custom serialize code path not touched by the sample provided by AbiExample. (technically not possible)
  • generics (must be a concrete type; use frozen_abi on concrete type aliases)

References

  1. (De)Serialization with type info · Issue #1095 · serde-rs/serde
  2. std::any::type_name - Rust
  3. Parity's ink to write smart contracts